Sisonke Xonti - uGaba the Migration

Sisonke Xonti - uGaba the Migration

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Highly anticipated sophomore release from saxophonist and composer Sisonke Xonti, winner of South Africa's 2020 Standard Bank Young Artist Award for Jazz.

At the centre of the album, Xonti's four-part "Migration Suite" is his boldest work to date, exploring rural and urban identity and the perilous spiritual journey from homeland to the global village.

Produced by Xonti and pianist Yonela Mnana and featuring photography by Mandisa Buthelezi, the album appears on As-Shams/The Sun as part of a roster of new artist releases on the cusp of the iconic South African jazz label's 50th anniversary.

Tenor & Soprano Sax • Vox (3, 6) - Sisonke Xonti
Piano • Vox (9) - Yonela Mnana
Trumpet - Sakhile Simani
Double Bass - Benjamin Jephta
Drums - Sphelelo Mazibuko
Percussion - Tlale Makhene

Rhodes (1, 3, 7, 8) - Bokani Dyer
Vox (7) - Keorapetse Kolwane
Trumpet (7, 9) - Lwanda Gogwana
Electric Bass (7, 9) - Vuyo Manyike
Drums (7, 9) - Leagan Breda

Produced by Sisonke Xonti & Yonela Mnana
Recorded by Peter Auret at Sumo Sound Studio, Johannesburg
Assistant Engineers: Tshepo Mothwa & Luyanda Molao
Mixed by Francis Müller • Mastered by Rogan Kelsey
Created with the support of Standard Bank
Design Layout by Rouleaux van der Merwe
Produced for As-Shams by Calum MacNaughton

Cat. No. SRK 897246
℗ 2020 As-Shams/The Sun