Carlo Mombelli - I Press My Spine to the Ground

Carlo Mombelli - I Press My Spine to the Ground

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

'I Press My Spine to the Ground' is true testament of the legacy Carlo Mombelli has created over his many years as an active thought leader in South African music. 

The stellar cast of musicians on this album create an intensely emotive piece of music, layered with what feels like freeform improvisations and haunting soundscapes. The band assembled for this release consists of long time collaborators Mabuso Khoza, Kyle Shepherd and Kesivan Naidoo. Brenda Sisane also contributes a beautiful spoken word piece.

The cover artwork was created by Norman Catherine.

This is a collaborative release with Roastin' Records, Angry Africa Records and 13Hof.


1 | The bells of Gitschenen 6:20

2 | I press my spine to the ground 4:27

3 | Maya’s meshes 3:19

4 | Bass spirits 5:47


1 | I close my eyes 4:33

2 | Picasso’s dove 5:51

3 | Hymn / Joni 4:32

4 | Meditations in my back yard 6:14


CAT Nr: RAP002

Limited to 300 units